Eff it, I’m 30.

I’ve reached the age where suddenly it is uncool to be me.  As a thirty-something year old woman, working as a professional in a highly polished industry, it is suddenly uncool to be… cool.  The expectation of the world now that I have reached this dreaded age of maturity is that I smear on loads of make up, swirl wine, and surround myself with girlfriends for a Dancing With the Stars viewing party.  Well that ain’t me babe.  I will not go softly into that dark night where my zippy little whip is no longer seen as the sporty hatchback that it is, and is instead assumed to be some form of trendy station wagon, forged in the depths of soccer mom hell.  I will not hang up my Vans in favor of uncomfortably high heels (that, let’s be honest, give you ugly, crooked toes).  I cannot, in good conscience, pretend that I know what the hell a quiche is, and I definitely won’t offer to bake you one.

I am a tomboy.  I was born a tomboy, raised a tomboy, and will go to my grave a tomboy.  I cannot help it, I love skateboards, adventure, sports, and wrestlin’.  I push myself to stay true to my interests, to not let myself be swayed by the lifestyles of my peers.  I live for adventure.  I love to try new things, knowing full well how ridiculous I look trying them.  I am a jack of all trades, but a master of none, probably not even an apprentice of some.  Due to this reckless, immature, and unrefined lifestyle, I am also a loner.  I don’t really know anyone quite like me.  It seems that girls my age don’t want to go to the skate park together, or try out a Judo class.  I know that girls like me are out there, I just don’t know any of them.   I don’t fit in with the sophisticated crowd.  I don’t dress to high fashion.  I don’t enjoy spending my weekends in a bar.  I want to get out there.  I want to try new things.  I want to have an adventure, and try something I have never done before.  I want to experience all that this world has to offer, to live for me, and to make a few friends along the way that share the same interests.  My hope is that this blog lets me feel like I am sharing my adventures with you, my new, awesome friends.

One comment

Leave a Reply

